About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products

Expert advice and information on herbs, vitamins, and other over-the-counter dietary supplements.

Find evidence-based information to help judge a product's traditional and proven uses, potential benefits, possible adverse effects, and interactions with other herbs or medicines.

ACP Journal Club - EBM Reviews

American College of Physicians' editors screen top clinical journals and write enhanced abstracts and commentary on the study's value. 

Quickly understand and apply clinically relevant information to your practice without having to read and synthesize individual journal articles.

AHEC Digital Library (ADL)

The NC AHEC Digital Library (ADL) is a collection of digital library services and resources to support health care in North Carolina.

Includes electronic databases, journals, and e-books.  

Click HERE for a quick introductory tutorial to the ADL.

Note: Authentication is required for some resources.

AORN eGuidelines+

Provides access to the most current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice and includes various tools to support learners, perioperative teams, and ancillary departments in day-to-day practice. 

Bio Rxiv

Pronounced, "bio-archive".  This online resource archives and distributes unpublished preprints in the life sciences.

Authors can make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before submitting them to journals.

CINAHL

Premier database to the nursing and allied health literature.

ClinicalKey

Clinical overviews (1,400+), full-text books (1,100+) and journals (650+), drug information, procedure videos, medical images, clinical calculators, customized patient education handouts, practice guidelines, and more. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

Clinical Key for Nursing

Provides access to nursing content, including full-text books and journals, point-of-care monographs, customizable patient education handouts, drug monographs, videos, images, practice guidelines, and clinical trials. 

Clinical Key for Nursing-eBooks

Browse the collection of nursing related eBooks.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - EBM Reviews

A highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews

High-quality, up-to-date systematic reviews across a broad range of health topics summarizing reliable evidence of the benefits and risks of healthcare.

Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED - EBM

Consumer Product Information Database

Health effects information for products containing chemicals used in the home and in some commercial/institutional settings.

Includes information on ingredients, health warnings, the manufacturer, and product properties.

Database for Rural Health Research in Progress

Easy and timely access to research and findings from federally funded Rural Health Research Centers.

• Completed rural health research publications; Information about the research centers and individual researchers and current research center projects.

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health

Access national, state, and regional findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health & the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.

• An interactive data query for NSCH and NS-CSHCN data
• Downloadable datasets with accompanying codebooks that include measures, indicator labels, and more
• US maps to compare state data with national data

DermIS: Atlas of Dermatology

Elaborate image atlases (DOIA and PeDOIA) complete with diagnoses and differential diagnoses, case reports, and additional information on almost all skin diseases.

Drug Information from RxList

Clinically-oriented drug information from WebMD. 

Reviews and updates are written by pharmacists and physicians.  Includes searchable imprint codes to identify unknown tablets.

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)

Information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

Suggests therapeutic alternatives using fully referenced evidence-based literature.

Emcare

Covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions

Includes international coverage and unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases. 

Essential Evidence Plus

Clinical decision point-of-care tool. Includes EBM guidelines, evidence summaries, and images. 

GenBank: NIH database of publicly available DNA sequences

Access the most up-to-date and comprehensive DNA sequence information.  Contains over 17 trillion nucleotide bases in more than 2,45 billion sequences ( as of June 2022).

Genome Database

Genome information including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.

Global Library of Women's Medicine

Clinical information on women's health.  Provides expert support to obstetricians, gynecologists, and reproductive health professionals.

Specially commissioned chapters on most aspects of medicine are continually reviewed and updated.

Haz-Map: Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases

Designed for health and safety professionals and consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents.

Health Business Elite

Topics include healthcare administration and other non-clinical healthcare institution management aspects.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

A collection of patient-level data from State data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the Federal government.

Coverage includes health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, State, and local market levels.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)

Collection of current and historical assessments of health services and technology published by the National Library of Medicine.  

Includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), protocols from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), recommendations from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF), consensus reports and clinical practice guidelines, and guidance and research on methods from the AHR.  

Note: Some information in this resource is outdated and should only be used for historical reference.

HealthStar

Contains citations to the published literature on, and research. Focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery (health services, technology, administration).

Topics include evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services, and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services, and manpower; health care policy, economics, and financial management.

Health Technology Assessment - EBM Reviews

Brings together details on ongoing studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions.

HIV/AIDS Drug Database

Provides information on HIV-related drugs, including FDA-approved antiretroviral and opportunistic infection drugs and investigational drugs. 

Images

Below are links to several image databases.  Be mindful of copyright and licensing requirements for use.

Maternal and Child Health Library

Access current evidence to support State Title V programs, community agencies, educators, students, researchers, policymakers, and families.

Provides access to seminal and historical materials from federal, state, and local programs. 

Medical Letter

Provides objective, practical, and timely information on drugs and treatments of common diseases to help make the best decisions for patients—without the influence of the pharmaceutical industry.

Medline (OVID)

Provides information relevant to the fields of medicine, nursing, and dentistry,covering areas of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering that are related to health and biomedicine.

Updated daily, MEDLINE contains more than 30 million citations from 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and many other countries. 

MedlinePlus

Offers health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in non-technical, understandable language.

Contains pre-formulated searches of the MEDLINE database and information on drugs, supplements, and herbs. 

medRxiv

A preprint server, where full drafts of research papers in the health sciences are shared publicly before they have undergone peer review.  Note, this content should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.

Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, Procedures

Offers the latest medical news, expert perspectives, and relevant professional education and CME.  Also contains comprehensive information on drugs and herbals, drug interactions, diseases and conditions, medical procedures, and anatomy, as well as practice guidelines and a physician finder tool. It also offers dozens of calculators pertaining to tests, diagnostic criteria, and more, arranged by medical specialty.

Micromedex

Micromedex is an evidence-based, multi-database drug search engine that provides a summary and in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions.

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (SAMHSA)

Provides information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into communities or clinical settings. Contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.

National Rehabilitation Information Center

The library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research.  Includes articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of their funded research projects. Areas include technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building.

Native American Ethnobotany Database

A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes, and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.

NC Health Workforce

Provides timely, objective data and analysis to inform health workforce policy in North Carolina and across the United States. With annual files dating back to 1979, the HPDS is the oldest continuous state health workforce data system in the country.

NC Live

NC LIVE is a gateway to the combined electronic resources of libraries in the state of North Carolina. NC LIVE currently offers online access to complete articles from over 5,500 newspapers, journals, and magazines; two encyclopedias; and indexing for over 10,000 periodical titles. 

Note: NC Public Library Card is required for complete access.

NIH RePORTER

Provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH-supported research.

North Carolina Central Cancer Registry

A population-based reporting system that serves as the sole repository of complete cancer incidence data for the State of North Carolina.

OMH Knowledge Center Online Catalog

Provides access to the nation’s largest repository of information dedicated to the health of minority populations within the United States and its territories. The collection includes more than 70,000 documents, books, journal articles, reports, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. In addition, users can access consumer health materials in more than 40 languages. 

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)

A comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 16,000 genes.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)

Provides information resources to support evidence-based clinical practice.  Contains bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy.  Trials are rated on the basis of their methodological quality.

PsychiatryOnline

Provides access to books, journals, and other publications produced by American Psychiatric Association Publishing including the DSM-5. 

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.

Resident 360

Helps you prepare for your next rotation quickly and efficiently, provides support for coping with the pressures of resident life, and equips you to take the next major step in your career.

Offers clinical content targeted specifically to residents’ needs, guidance in career decisions, and a way to connect with peers. 

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...

TRIP Database

Turning Research into Practice is an online clinical search engine linking users to high-quality research.  Sites searched by TRIP include Bandolier, BestBETS, Cochrane, NICE, SIGN, the Royal Colleges, ATTRACT, and many of the top-rated clinical Journals such as JAMA, Lancet, and BMJ.  Results are ranked based on their date of publication, evidence type, and the strength of the textual link.

Health Business Elite

Topics include healthcare administration and other non-clinical healthcare institution management aspects.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project

A collection of patient-level data from State data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the Federal government.

Coverage includes health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, State, and local market levels.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)

Collection of current and historical assessments of health services and technology published by the National Library of Medicine.  

Includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), protocols from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), recommendations from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF), consensus reports and clinical practice guidelines, and guidance and research on methods from the AHR.  

Note: Some information in this resource is outdated and should only be used for historical reference.

HealthStar

Contains citations to the published literature on, and research. Focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery (health services, technology, administration).

Topics include evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services, and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services, and manpower; health care policy, economics, and financial management.

Health Technology Assessment - EBM Reviews

Brings together details on ongoing studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions.

NC Health Workforce

Provides timely, objective data and analysis to inform health workforce policy in North Carolina and across the United States. With annual files dating back to 1979, the HPDS is the oldest continuous state health workforce data system in the country.

OMH Knowledge Center Online Catalog

Provides access to the nation’s largest repository of information dedicated to the health of minority populations within the United States and its territories. The collection includes more than 70,000 documents, books, journal articles, reports, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. In addition, users can access consumer health materials in more than 40 languages. 

CINAHL

Premier database to the nursing and allied health literature.

National Rehabilitation Information Center

The library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research.  Includes articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of their funded research projects. Areas include technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)

Provides information resources to support evidence-based clinical practice.  Contains bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy.  Trials are rated on the basis of their methodological quality.

PsychiatryOnline

Provides access to books, journals, and other publications produced by American Psychiatric Association Publishing including the DSM-5. 

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...

About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products

Expert advice and information on herbs, vitamins, and other over-the-counter dietary supplements.

Find evidence-based information to help judge a product's traditional and proven uses, potential benefits, possible adverse effects, and interactions with other herbs or medicines.

Native American Ethnobotany Database

A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes, and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...

ClinicalKey

Clinical overviews (1,400+), full-text books (1,100+) and journals (650+), drug information, procedure videos, medical images, clinical calculators, customized patient education handouts, practice guidelines, and more. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products

Expert advice and information on herbs, vitamins, and other over-the-counter dietary supplements.

Find evidence-based information to help judge a product's traditional and proven uses, potential benefits, possible adverse effects, and interactions with other herbs or medicines.

Consumer Product Information Database

Health effects information for products containing chemicals used in the home and in some commercial/institutional settings.

Includes information on ingredients, health warnings, the manufacturer, and product properties.

Drug Information from RxList

Clinically-oriented drug information from WebMD. 

Reviews and updates are written by pharmacists and physicians.  Includes searchable imprint codes to identify unknown tablets.

Haz-Map: Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases

Designed for health and safety professionals and consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents.

HIV/AIDS Drug Database

Provides information on HIV-related drugs, including FDA-approved antiretroviral and opportunistic infection drugs and investigational drugs. 

Maternal and Child Health Library

Access current evidence to support State Title V programs, community agencies, educators, students, researchers, policymakers, and families.

Provides access to seminal and historical materials from federal, state, and local programs. 

MedlinePlus

Offers health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in non-technical, understandable language.

Contains pre-formulated searches of the MEDLINE database and information on drugs, supplements, and herbs. 

Native American Ethnobotany Database

A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes, and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.

ACP Journal Club - EBM Reviews

American College of Physicians' editors screen top clinical journals and write enhanced abstracts and commentary on the study's value. 

Quickly understand and apply clinically relevant information to your practice without having to read and synthesize individual journal articles.

CINAHL

Premier database to the nursing and allied health literature.

ClinicalKey

Clinical overviews (1,400+), full-text books (1,100+) and journals (650+), drug information, procedure videos, medical images, clinical calculators, customized patient education handouts, practice guidelines, and more. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

DermIS: Atlas of Dermatology

Elaborate image atlases (DOIA and PeDOIA) complete with diagnoses and differential diagnoses, case reports, and additional information on almost all skin diseases.

AORN eGuidelines+

Provides access to the most current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice and includes various tools to support learners, perioperative teams, and ancillary departments in day-to-day practice. 

ClinicalKey

Clinical overviews (1,400+), full-text books (1,100+) and journals (650+), drug information, procedure videos, medical images, clinical calculators, customized patient education handouts, practice guidelines, and more. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

Clinical Key for Nursing-eBooks

Browse the collection of nursing related eBooks.

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...

ClinicalKey

Clinical overviews (1,400+), full-text books (1,100+) and journals (650+), drug information, procedure videos, medical images, clinical calculators, customized patient education handouts, practice guidelines, and more. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - EBM Reviews

A highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews

High-quality, up-to-date systematic reviews across a broad range of health topics summarizing reliable evidence of the benefits and risks of healthcare.

Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED - EBM

Health Technology Assessment - EBM Reviews

Brings together details on ongoing studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions.

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (SAMHSA)

Provides information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into communities or clinical settings. Contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.

TRIP Database

Turning Research into Practice is an online clinical search engine linking users to high-quality research.  Sites searched by TRIP include Bandolier, BestBETS, Cochrane, NICE, SIGN, the Royal Colleges, ATTRACT, and many of the top-rated clinical Journals such as JAMA, Lancet, and BMJ.  Results are ranked based on their date of publication, evidence type, and the strength of the textual link.

GenBank: NIH database of publicly available DNA sequences

Access the most up-to-date and comprehensive DNA sequence information.  Contains over 17 trillion nucleotide bases in more than 2,45 billion sequences ( as of June 2022).

Genome Database

Genome information including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)

A comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 16,000 genes.

NC Health Workforce

Provides timely, objective data and analysis to inform health workforce policy in North Carolina and across the United States. With annual files dating back to 1979, the HPDS is the oldest continuous state health workforce data system in the country.

OMH Knowledge Center Online Catalog

Provides access to the nation’s largest repository of information dedicated to the health of minority populations within the United States and its territories. The collection includes more than 70,000 documents, books, journal articles, reports, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. In addition, users can access consumer health materials in more than 40 languages. 

Images

Below are links to several image databases.  Be mindful of copyright and licensing requirements for use.

AORN eGuidelines+

Provides access to the most current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice and includes various tools to support learners, perioperative teams, and ancillary departments in day-to-day practice. 

CINAHL

Premier database to the nursing and allied health literature.

Clinical Key for Nursing

Provides access to nursing content, including full-text books and journals, point-of-care monographs, customizable patient education handouts, drug monographs, videos, images, practice guidelines, and clinical trials. 

Clinical Key for Nursing-eBooks

Browse the collection of nursing related eBooks.

Emcare

Covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions

Includes international coverage and unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases. 

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...

Haz-Map: Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases

Designed for health and safety professionals and consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents.

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...

ClinicalKey

Clinical overviews (1,400+), full-text books (1,100+) and journals (650+), drug information, procedure videos, medical images, clinical calculators, customized patient education handouts, practice guidelines, and more. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

Drug Information from RxList

Clinically-oriented drug information from WebMD. 

Reviews and updates are written by pharmacists and physicians.  Includes searchable imprint codes to identify unknown tablets.

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)

Information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

Suggests therapeutic alternatives using fully referenced evidence-based literature.

Medical Letter

Provides objective, practical, and timely information on drugs and treatments of common diseases to help make the best decisions for patients—without the influence of the pharmaceutical industry.

Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, Procedures

Offers the latest medical news, expert perspectives, and relevant professional education and CME.  Also contains comprehensive information on drugs and herbals, drug interactions, diseases and conditions, medical procedures, and anatomy, as well as practice guidelines and a physician finder tool. It also offers dozens of calculators pertaining to tests, diagnostic criteria, and more, arranged by medical specialty.

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...

ClinicalKey

Clinical overviews (1,400+), full-text books (1,100+) and journals (650+), drug information, procedure videos, medical images, clinical calculators, customized patient education handouts, practice guidelines, and more. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

Essential Evidence Plus

Clinical decision point-of-care tool. Includes EBM guidelines, evidence summaries, and images. 

Bio Rxiv

Pronounced, "bio-archive".  This online resource archives and distributes unpublished preprints in the life sciences.

Authors can make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before submitting them to journals.

medRxiv

A preprint server, where full drafts of research papers in the health sciences are shared publicly before they have undergone peer review.  Note, this content should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.

PsychiatryOnline

Provides access to books, journals, and other publications produced by American Psychiatric Association Publishing including the DSM-5. 

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...

Database for Rural Health Research in Progress

Easy and timely access to research and findings from federally funded Rural Health Research Centers.

• Completed rural health research publications; Information about the research centers and individual researchers and current research center projects.

Haz-Map: Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases

Designed for health and safety professionals and consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents.

HIV/AIDS Drug Database

Provides information on HIV-related drugs, including FDA-approved antiretroviral and opportunistic infection drugs and investigational drugs. 

Maternal and Child Health Library

Access current evidence to support State Title V programs, community agencies, educators, students, researchers, policymakers, and families.

Provides access to seminal and historical materials from federal, state, and local programs. 

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (SAMHSA)

Provides information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into communities or clinical settings. Contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.

Native American Ethnobotany Database

A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes, and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.

NC Health Workforce

Provides timely, objective data and analysis to inform health workforce policy in North Carolina and across the United States. With annual files dating back to 1979, the HPDS is the oldest continuous state health workforce data system in the country.

NIH RePORTER

Provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH-supported research.

North Carolina Central Cancer Registry

A population-based reporting system that serves as the sole repository of complete cancer incidence data for the State of North Carolina.

ACP Journal Club - EBM Reviews

American College of Physicians' editors screen top clinical journals and write enhanced abstracts and commentary on the study's value. 

Quickly understand and apply clinically relevant information to your practice without having to read and synthesize individual journal articles.

Resident 360

Helps you prepare for your next rotation quickly and efficiently, provides support for coping with the pressures of resident life, and equips you to take the next major step in your career.

Offers clinical content targeted specifically to residents’ needs, guidance in career decisions, and a way to connect with peers. 

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health

Access national, state, and regional findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health & the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.

• An interactive data query for NSCH and NS-CSHCN data
• Downloadable datasets with accompanying codebooks that include measures, indicator labels, and more
• US maps to compare state data with national data

NC Health Workforce

Provides timely, objective data and analysis to inform health workforce policy in North Carolina and across the United States. With annual files dating back to 1979, the HPDS is the oldest continuous state health workforce data system in the country.

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health

Access national, state, and regional findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health & the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.

• An interactive data query for NSCH and NS-CSHCN data
• Downloadable datasets with accompanying codebooks that include measures, indicator labels, and more
• US maps to compare state data with national data

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)

Information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

Suggests therapeutic alternatives using fully referenced evidence-based literature.

Global Library of Women's Medicine

Clinical information on women's health.  Provides expert support to obstetricians, gynecologists, and reproductive health professionals.

Specially commissioned chapters on most aspects of medicine are continually reviewed and updated.

Maternal and Child Health Library

Access current evidence to support State Title V programs, community agencies, educators, students, researchers, policymakers, and families.

Provides access to seminal and historical materials from federal, state, and local programs. 

STAT!Ref Collection of Textbooks

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of full-text medical, pharmacology, and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. 

Users have remote access to standard texts and respected medical and nursing titles, such as:

• AAFP Conditions A-Z
• ASHP Injectable Drug Information
• Davis Drug Guide for Nurses
• Redbook Online Outbreaks
• Taber's Medical Dictionary. 
• AND MORE...